Scriabin: Symphony No. 2, Op. 29; Piano Concerto, Op. 20

Scriabin: Symphony No. 2, Op. 29; Piano Concerto, Op. 20

Kirill Gerstein (piano)

Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra



Scriabin: Symphony No. 2, Op. 29; Piano Concerto, Op. 20
Following on from the huge success of Prokofiev’s Romeo and Juliet (LWC1105), the Oslo Philharmonic and Vasily Petrenko again join forces on this new recording forming the next in their Scriabin series. Critics were united in their praise for the previous recordings: “Lovely playing all round, with beautiful solos (woodwind particularly) and clean ensemble.” The Guardian Classic FM’s Critic’s Choice | Disc of the Week – BBC Radio 3’s Record Review (LWC1105) Scriabin’s Symphony No’s 3 & 4 (LWC1088) hailed similar praise: ” everything in the Oslo performances seems to be moving the music forward, making its final destination utterly inevitable.” The Guardian “The Poem of Ecstasy is heady stuff, brilliantly played.” The Sunday Times Lawo is delighted therefore to present the next in their Scriabin series, this time with Symphony number 2 coupled with his Piano Concerto op 20, performed by the talented pianist Kirill Gerstein. Pianist Kirill Gerstein’s curiosity and versatility has led to a powerful engagement with a wide range of repertoire and styles. From Bach to Adès, his playing is distinguished by its clarity of expression, discerning intelligence and virtuosity. Gerstein’s energetic and imaginative musical personality has taken him rapidly to the top of his profession. Vasily Petrenko is one of the most acclaimed classical recording artists alive and has won numerous accolades for his recordings of Russian repertoire, including two Gramophone awards. With the Oslo Philharmonic, he has recorded Shostakovich and Szymanowski concertos, Romeo and Juliet by Prokofjev and is in the process of recording a major new cycle of orchestral works by Alexander Scriabin, of which this release is the second in the series of three CDs.
  1. SCRIABIN – Symphony No. 2, Op. 29 I Andante
  2. II. Allegro
  3. III. Andante
  4. IV. Tempestoso
  5. V. Maestoso
  6. Piano Concerto, Op.20 – I Allegro
  7. II. Andante
  8. III. Allegro Moderato