Music returns to Liverpool Philharmonic Hall this spring as Chief Conductor Vasily Petrenko and the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, and associated ensembles, perform a mix of live concerts with audiences (from 20 May) and On Demand concerts (broadcast online from 6 April).

Petrenko will lift everyone’s spirits as the Orchestra performs their first concert since 30 December featuring works by Beethoven, Delius and Prokofiev (20/23 May). Steven Verhaert conducts the Orchestra’s Brass and Percussion Ensemble with a programme including works by Rimsky-Korsakov and Mussorgsky (10 June).

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic On Demand

Six new, one-hour concerts will be broadcast as part of Royal Liverpool Philharmonic’s On Demand series.

Vasily Petrenko leads the Orchestra for four of these concerts starting on 6 April with Stravinsky – In memoriam 50 years. The programme pays tribute to the composer’s music which has been at the heart of the Orchestra’s repertoire under Petrenko. He’ll also conduct Mendelssohn’s Midsummer Night’s Dream: Overture, Nocturne and Scherzo (20 April), Poulenc’s charming Sinfonietta, Gerhard Alegrías’ toe-tapping Suite from the ballet Divertissement Flamenco and Falla’s popular El amor brujo – Ballet Suite (all 4 May).

All On Demand concerts will be preceded by a live pre-concert talk on Zoom at 7pm with BBC Radio 3 broadcaster and author Stephen Johnson. Afterwards audiences can join musicians, conductors and composers for a ‘post-match analysis’ style Q&A. Concerts will be available to watch for 30 days.

Tickets for concerts at Liverpool Philharmonic Hall cost from £24 per person and will go on general sale on Wednesday 17 March at 10am. Tickets for On Demand concerts cost from £10 for an individual ticket, or from £54 for the series of 6 (saving 10%).

Visit or call the box office on 0151 709 3789 to purchase tickets.

The Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra concerts at Liverpool Philharmonic Hall are as follows:

Thursday 20 May 7.30pm, Sunday 23 May 2.30pm
Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 1
Delius Two pieces for small orchestra: On Hearing the First Cuckoo in Spring and Summer night on the river
Prokofiev Sinfonietta

Vasily Petrenko conductor 
Paul Lewis piano
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

Thursday 27 May 7.30pm, Friday 28 May 7.30pm
Kalinnikov Serenade for Strings
Shostakovich Piano Concerto No.1
Tchaikovsky Serenade for Strings

Vasily Petrenko conductor
Richard Cowen trumpet
Piano soloist to be confirmed

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic On Demand concerts:

Tuesday 6 April
Stravinsky – In memoriam 50 years
Suite No.1 for small orchestra
Apollon Musagète for strings
Concerto for Piano and Winds

Vasily Petrenko conductor
Steven Osborne piano

Tuesday 20 April
Mendelssohn Midsummer Night’s Dream: Overture, Nocturne and Scherzo
Schubert Overture ‘In the Italian style’
Beethoven Symphony No.2

Vasily Petrenko conductor

Tuesday 4 May
Poulenc Sinfonietta
Gerhard Alegrías Suite from the ballet Divertissement Flamenco
Falla El amor brujo – Ballet Suite

Vasily Petrenko conductor

Tuesday 11 May
Hindemith Overture, Amor and Psyche
Shostakovich Incidental Music to Hamlet (concert suite)
Schreker The Birthday of the Infanta

Vasily Petrenko conductor