december, 2018

05dec19:00Brahms Piano Concerto No. 1 - Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra19:00 Oslo Concert Hall


Event Details

Johannes Brahms Piano Concerto No. 1

Vasily Petrenko conductor

Simon Trpceski piano

Simon Trpceski returns to Oslo to perform Brahms´monumental Piano Concerto No. 1 with the Oslo Philharmonic and Vasily Petrenko.

It might be commonly claimed, that while Beethoven’s “Emperor” concerto (his fifth) occupies a unique position amongst Romantic piano concertos, Johannes Brahms´(1833−1897) Piano Concerto No. 1 is its heir. With a reach, expressive register and monumentalism with surpassed its predecessor, Brahms set a new standard for the genre. Despite the fact that the concerto sets formidable technical demands for virtuosity and brilliance, it is not the bravura in and of itself which is the focal point. In this concerto, the soloist weaves his way into a drama which plays out within and together with, the whole orchestra.

In line with tradition, Brahms’ first concerto for piano has three movements, and the composer builds on earlier models also in terms of form. The first movement has a classical sonata form, but  the content and length of the various parts are untraditional. The symphonic drama, with the soloist playing the principal part, is followed by a far calmer second movement. “I am painting a tender portrait of you”, Brahms is to have said of this movement to Clara Schumann. Others have been more captivated by the way it floats, almost like Palestrina’s vocal polyphony, and by its spiritual aura. At the start of the finale, the soloist takes back control and thunders away with both rhythmical panache and virtuosic flair. Brahms’ first concerto for piano had its world premiere in Hannover in 1859 and was the composer’s first successful work for orchestra.


(Wednesday) 19:00


Oslo Concert Hall