november, 2020

27nov07:30Copenhagen, Denmark - Danish National Symphony Orchestra - Sibelius, Shostakovich07:30 DR Concert Hall


Event Details

Augustin Hadelich, violin
Danish National Symphony Orchestra
Vasily Petrenko, conductor

Sibelius: Violin Concerto in D minor, Op. 47
Shostakovich: Symphony No. 4 in C minor, Op. 43

DRSO Note (translation):
The DR Symphony Orchestra presents two strong works together with world-class guest artists, conductor Vasily Petrenko and violinist Augustin Hadelich. Sibelius’ Violin Concerto is obsessively intense music, and Shostakovich’s 4th Symphony is a musical showdown that came close to costing the composer his life.

Shostakovich’s 4th Symphony was so explosive that it could not be performed in its time. Shortly before the premiere in 1936, the symphony was withdrawn. Officially, this was because Shostakovich was not happy with his music. But the true explanation was that Stalin’s government felt the music was an attack on the state. The symphony is one of the composer’s major works, and it requires a very large orchestra. The performance will be led by one of the world’s most acclaimed Shostakovich conductors, Vasily Petrenko.


(Friday) 07:30


DR Concert Hall