june, 2021

03jun(jun 3)19:3019(jun 19)19:30Streamed - Royal Albert Hall - Royal Philharmonic Orchestra; Stephen Hough - Berlioz, Saint-Saëns, Scriabin, Brahms19:30 - 19:30 (19) Royal Albert Hall


Event Details

Vasily Petrenko, conductor
Stephen Hough, piano
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

BERLIOZ Le Corsaire Overture
SAINT-SAËNS Piano Concerto No.5, ‘Egyptian’
SCRIABIN Symphony No.2!
BRAHMS Symphony No.4

Streaming from 25 March – 8 April

Royal Albert Hall’s Note:
The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra and Music Director Designate Vasily Petrenko return to the Royal Albert Hall to perform a host of French and Russian Romantic masterworks for our next streamed concert, brought directly to the comfort of your own home.

Joining the Orchestra is one of the UK’s most prolific concert pianists, the multiple award winning Stephen Hough – globally renowned for his outstanding interpretations of the piano repertoire and widely regarded as one of the most important and distinctive pianists of his generation. Stephen will perform Saint-Saëns’ Fifth (and final) Piano Concerto, ‘The Egyptian’ – a beguiling piece, filled with exotic sounds and vibrant rhythms.

The concert gets off to an upbeat start with music from another of the great French composers, Berlioz, with his Le Corsaire Overture, whilst Scriabin’s rarely performed, yet utterly enthralling Second Symphony closes the concert. This intense and passionate work takes audiences on a musical journey of rousing highs and devastating lows, and of which Vasily Petrenko’s interpretations have been critically acclaimed.

Ticket information
Tickets are from £10* each (with additional donation options available).

The performance will be available to view up to 14 days after the event has ended and can be accessed until 19 June at 7:30pm BST.


3 (Thursday) 19:30 - 19 (Saturday) 19:30


Royal Albert Hall

Kensington Gore, South Kensington, SW7 2AP