april, 2021

06apr(apr 6)19:0005may(may 5)18:59Streamed - Royal Liverpool Phlharmonic Orchestra; Steven Osbourne - On Demand: Stravinsky - In memoriam 50 years(april 6) 19:00 - (may 5) 18:59 Liverpool Philharmonic Hall


Event Details

Steven Osborne piano
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

Stravinsky Suite No.1 for small orchestra
Stravinsky Apollon Musagète for strings
Stravinsky Concerto for Piano and Winds

On 6 April, it will have been 50 years since Stravinsky passed away in New York. Join us online for our tribute one of the most important composers of the 20th century. His music has been at the heart of the Orchestra’s journey with Vasily Petrenko over the past 15 years, but these pieces have not been performed by the Orchestra before. This is Stravinsky at his best: From the whimsy of the Suite, to the beautiful score for Balanchine’s choreography and then the vitality of the Concerto for Piano and Winds. Pianist Steven Osborne returns to our stage. He last appeared with the Orchestra in Messiaen’s Turangalîla Symphony in 2018.

The concert will be available to watch from 7pm on Tuesday 6 April, preceded by a live preconcert talk on Zoom at 7pm with BBC Radio 3 broadcaster and author Stephen Johnson, and a post-concert Zoom q and a session with musicians, conductors and staff in a sort of ‘post-match analysis’, where you can ask questions and participate. Further information on how to join the Zoom will be sent to you after you purchase a ticket.


April 6 (Tuesday) 19:00 - May 5 (Wednesday) 18:59


Liverpool Philharmonic Hall

Hope St, Liverpool L1 9BP